Applicants must pass an examination in order to be licensed to perform or
install plumbing work . To qualify for the Journeyman Plumber exam, you must verify
at least 5 years or 8,000 hours of work experience installing, repairing, or maintaining plumbing systems. The Board does not have any reciprocity agreements with other states; however, if you have a valid plumbing license in another state, you can use it to qualify to take the Journeyman Plumber exam in Louisiana in lieu of the required vouchers. Once you obtain your Journeyman Plumber license, you may apply to take the Master Plumber exam.
In addition to the Master and Journeyman Plumber licenses, the State Plumbing Board also issues Water Supply Protection Specialist (WSPS) endorsements, Medical Gas Installer licenses, Medical Gas Verifier licenses and Master and Journeyman Natural Gas Fitter licenses.
Applicants must complete the Business and Law course and exams
for the specific trade. Louisiana accepts the NASCLA Accredited Examination for
Commercial General Building Contractors in lieu of the trade portion of the Building
Construction Examination, NASCLA Electrical Examination, and/or the Residential
Building Contractor Examination. Independently prepared financial statements are required with the application Residential Building Contractors, Home Improvement Registrants, and Mold Remediation Contractors must file insurance certificates for workers' compensation and general liability for the statutory limits (i.e. Residential Building Contractors and Home Improvement Registrants, $100,000, Mold Remediation Contractors, $50,000).
Louisiana State Licensing Board for Contractors considers each case individually and can grant an exemption of examination and of statutory license issuance waiting
periods to a nonresident contractor based on a reciprocal agreement or examination
waiver agreement with another state. Currently, contractors domiciled in and holding
licenses in Alabama (General Contractors, Residential, Electrical and HVAC), Arkansas, California (Building Construction only), Georgia (Genera l Contractors, Conditioned Air, Electrical, and Residential), Kentucky (Electrical), Mississippi, North Carolina (General Contractors, Electrical), Nevada and Ohio (Electrical and Mechanical Trades), South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas (Electrical), and Utah may receive this exemption. To be eligible, the contractor must have held a license with a comparable classification in their state without having been sanctioned in their state for violations of contractors' laws for 3 consecutive years (1 year for Texas, 5 years for California).
Fees for Initial Commercial Application
Classification/License Fees / Amount
1 Classification / $100
2 Classifications / $195
3 Classifications / $290
4 Classifications / $380
5 or More Classifications / $400
Trade Examination Administration/Research/transaction fee (per classification) / $120
Cost of Business and Law Examination and the study guide / $180
Background Financial Investigations
Background Financial Investigation Processing Fee / $160
For All Out-of-State Contractors' Only
Out-of-State Contractors' Surcharge / $400