Commercial applicants must pass a law and business management exam and a specific trade examination (if required) with a minimum score of 70%. Applicants must provide previous work experience and 3 reference letters including 1 from a bank or financial institution. A reviewed financial statement stating the assets, liabilities and net worth of the applicant is required. Applicants for a major classification must show proof of a net worth of $50,000 and applicants for a specialty classification must show proof of a net worth of $20,000. Also required is a certificate of insurance showing current minimum insurance coverage of $300,000 per occurrence and $600,000 aggregate for general liability purposes. Additionally, an applicant must show proof of current workers' compensation coverage (if applicable). If applicant is a corporation, LLC or Limited Partnership, proof of good standing with the Mississippi Secretary of State must be provided. The application fee as well as the annual renewal fee for a commercial certificate of responsibility is $400.Residential applicants must provide a certificate of general liability insurance, but no minimum policy amount is required. An applicant must also show proof of current workers' compensation coverage (if applicable). If applicant is a corporation, LLC or Limited Partnership, proof of good standing with the Mississippi Secretary of State must be provided. The application fee for a residential license is $50 and the renewal fee is $100. Two hours of continuing education is required for renewal of all residential licenses issued after July 1, 2015 .
The Mississippi State Board of Contractors has reciprocal agreements with the
following states as listed below. Applicants must have held an unlimited license for 3
consecutive years and be in good standing in order for the trade exam to be waived;
however, all applicants must take the Mississippi Law and Business Management
Reciprocal agreements are as follows:
Alabama Licensing Board for general contractors: Waive all but mechanical and plumbing, but must take business and law exam.
Alabama Electrical Contractors Board: N/A
Alabama Board of heating, Air conditioning and refrigeration contractors: Must have taken the Alabama Exam.
Arkansas: Waive all but any type of mechanical (I.E. Plumbing, boilers, process piping, HVAC)
Georgia State Licensing Board for Residential and General contractors: Must have taken the Georgia exam. Waives commercial and residential building only.
Louisiana State licensing Board for contractors: Waives all but mechanical or Electrical (can waive HVAX but not mechanical or plumbing). If the electrical exam was taken in Louisiana, it can be waived
North Carolina State Board of Examiners of electrical contractors: Electrical and Alarm systems only. Must have taken exam in North Carolina
North Carolina State Licensing Board for General Contractors: Building Construction, Residential Building, Concrete, Grading and excavating, Roofing, Swimming Pools, Water Lines and sewer - Must have taken North Carolina Exam.
South Carolina Contractors licensing board: Waive building and electrical only if they have passed an exam given by PSI, Experior, Block or NAI.
South Carolina Residential Builders Commission: Must have taken the South Carolina exam
Tennessee Board for Licensing Contractors: Waives trades if there is no monetary limit on the license