All applicants must pass an open book examination on business and
law. Major trade classifications must also pass a trade specific examination. A
minimum score of 70% is required in order to qualify for licensure. Proof of workers'
compensation, tax registration and employment security coverage are required.
Licenses are good for 1 year from date of issuance.
Exam Fee / Application Fee / Renewal Fee
$51.95 / $90 / $90
Contractors must submit experience records and audited
financial statements for projects more than $200,000. Bid limits are based upon a
formula applied to the financial statements. Applications must be submitted 15 days
before the bid letting date, and the average processing time is 2 weeks. Prequalification
is good for 16 months from fiscal year end date. All highway projects require 102%
All commercial contractors who do not qualify for an exemption or waiver
according to §21-5-14 are required to post a wage bond equal to 4 weeks gross payroll,
at full capacity, plus 15% for fringe benefits.
Nonresident contractors must register with the State Tax Commissioner prior
to performing contracts and shall deposit 6% of the contract price in cash in the
contractors' use tax fund or provide a corporate surety bond.
A bond equal to the cost of materials and labor is required for public works, other than
Crane Operator Certifications:
A person operating a crane in West Virginia is required
to have a certification with the proper designation issued by the West Virginia Division
A person must have National Commission for the Certification of Crane Operators
(NCCCO) exam scores for both the written and practical examinations.
A physician's certificate prior to initial certification and will be required every 5 years.
The certificate must certify that you are qualified to drive a commercial motor vehicle
as required by 49 C.F.R. §391.41.
Lattice boom truck; Lattice boom crawler; Fixed cab-telescoping
boom; Swing cab-telescoping boom; and Tower. Crane operator certification initial and
renewal fee is $75.00.
Applicants must pass an open book examination based upon the 2017
National Electrical Code with a minimum score of 80%. The applicant is allowed 4
hours to take the examination. All work-related experience MUST be verifiable when
submitting an application for examination.
Electrician experience requirements are as follows:
5 years or 10,000 hours of actual hands-on electrical work experience. Must
document some residential, some industrial and some commercial electrical work.
Completed 1,080 hour approved West Virginia Electrical Vocational
Program or US Dept. of Labor approved Electrical Apprenticeship Program or 4 years or
8,000 hours of hands-on electrical work experience.
Must be 18 years or older.
2 years or 4,000 hours of hands on work experience in the area for which
the applicant is applying. One year may be obtained through educational programs.
Electrical Classification / Exam Fee / License Fee* / Renewal Fee
Master / $25 / $50 / $50
Journeyman / $25 / $50 / $50
Apprentice / $10 / $50 / $50
*Specialty / $25/ $50 / $50
*Specialty includes: HVAC, electric sign, single family residential dwelling, low
voltage-fire & burglar alarm system and elevator.
A person certified to install, test, maintain and repair heating,
ventilating and cooling systems. At least 2,000 hours of experience and/or training
working on heating, ventilating and cooling systems and at least 6,000 hours of
experience and/or training in heating, ventilating and cooling or relating work, to
include other sheet metal industry tasks.
HVAC Residential Technician:
A person certified to install, test, maintain, and repair
residential heating, ventilating, and cooling systems: Provided that such persons may
perform work on non-residential heating, ventilating, and cooling systems subject to
rules promulgated by the commissioner pursuant to §21-16-3 of this code. (May qualify
for the grandfathering process until December 31, 2019.)
HVAC Technician in Training:
A person with interest in, and an aptitude for, performing
installation, maintenance, and repair work to a heating, ventilating, and cooling system
as defined in this article, but who alone is not capable or authorized to perform heating,
ventilating, and cooling system work unless directly supervised by an HVAC technician
or HVAC residential technician. (No exam required to obtain.)
Certification Type / Exam Fee / Initial & Renewal Fee
HVAC Technician / $51.95 / $75
HVAC Residential in Training / $51.95 / $60
HVAC Technician in Training / N/A / $50
Persons performing or offering to perform plumbing work must acquire a license. This
license is to assure competence of those who perform plumbing.
The classifications and experience necessary to license are listed below:
A person with at least 12,000 hours of plumbing work experience
and who is competent to design plumbing systems, and to instruct and supervise the
plumbing work of journeyman plumbers, and plumbers in training.
A person qualified by at least 8,000 hours of plumbing or
related experience and who is competent to instruct and supervise the work of a
plumber in training.
Plumber in Training:
A person with interest in and an aptitude for performing plumbing
work but who alone is not capable of performing plumbing work, and who has fewer
than 8,000 hours of plumbing experience. (No exam required to obtain)
License Type / Exam Fee / License Fee
Master Plumber / $51.95 / $75
Journeyman / $51.95 / $75
Plumber in Training / N/A / $50
The Contractor Licensing Board may, in its discretion, create reciprocity agreements
with other states where equivalent classifications and licensing requirements exist. The
following is current reciprocity agreements:
Alabama - HVAC classification.
North Carolina - Electrical classification, including Business & Law.
Ohio - Electrical, HV AC and Plumbing classifications, including Business & Law
A person can only acquire a license via reciprocity once the applicant actually passes
the required exam(s) in the other state.
The board accepts NASCLA Accredited Examination for commercial General Building
exam scores administered by their testing agent, if acquired after September 1, 2013.
The State Fire Marshal allows reciprocal agreements for electricians, where
equivalent requirements exist. Currently, agreements exist with Kentucky (master and
journeyman), Maryland (master), North Carolina (master), Ohio (master) and Virginia
(master and journeyman). Reciprocity licenses can only be obtained if the applicant
actually passed a state exam in the other state.